OTC Desk vs Exchange: Where Large Crypto Orders Should Go
Why Large Orders Struggle on Public Exchanges
Large orders on public exchanges frequently encounter slippage when they consume successive levels of visible order-book liquidity. Each partial fill shifts the price, increasing the average cost of execution beyond the initial quote. Market impact also becomes apparent to other participants, as the order’s size and direction are revealed through the transparent book.
Institutions therefore route strategic or sizable trades off-exchange. Public order books provide speed and transparency for smaller activity but expose large blocks to immediate price pressure and visibility that can worsen outcomes.
OTC desks contrast sharply by delivering firm quotes for block trades executed away from the public order book. These quotes remove both slippage and market impact because pricing is agreed upfront rather than discovered through sequential matching on visible liquidity.
How OTC Desks Execute Block Trades
OTC desks provide firm quotes for large block trades executed off public order books. This method eliminates slippage and market impact that occur when large orders consume exchange order-book liquidity levels.
Desks aggregate liquidity across venues, counterparties, and their own inventory. Under the principal model, the desk serves as the direct counterparty and risks its own holdings to complete the trade. The agency model instead matches separate buyers and sellers without the desk taking a position.
Settlement flexibility includes stablecoins, wires, or on-chain delivery. Stablecoins accounted for 78% of institutional OTC trades in 2025, increasing from 26% two years earlier. The share rose further to 81% in H1 2026 according to Finery Markets data.
Typical minimum trade sizes at major desks reflect institutional focus. Kraken OTC, Coinbase Prime, and Binance OTC operate with $50,000 minimums. Cumberland sets its floor at $100,000. Galaxy Digital and Wintermute require approximately $200,000.
These features support the growing preference for OTC execution among institutions, where 40% now name it their primary venue and direct more than half their digital-asset volume through such channels.
Exchange Execution Mechanics for Size
Public exchanges match buyers and sellers through visible order books that display real-time bids and asks. These books apply maker/taker fee structures, typically charging lower rates to liquidity providers and higher rates to immediate takers. Smaller or time-sensitive trades benefit from this setup because it offers clear market transparency and fast matching without bilateral negotiation.
Once an order exceeds the depth available at the best prices, it begins consuming successive levels and creates immediate price impact. The public visibility of large resting orders also allows other participants to observe intent, which can trigger front-running or widened spreads before the trade completes. These mechanics make exchanges efficient for modest sizes but introduce execution risks precisely when order volume outstrips displayed liquidity.
Volume, Cost and Minimum Size Comparison
Institutional spot OTC volumes expanded 109% year-over-year in 2025, compared with 9% growth for the top 20 centralized exchanges, according to Finery Markets data. Average daily institutional crypto OTC volume reached approximately $39 billion in a February 2025 survey, with some providers exceeding $100 billion. Stablecoin settlement accounted for 78% of institutional OTC trades in 2025 and rose further to 81% in the first half of 2026.
OTC desk Bitcoin reserves fell from roughly 550,000 BTC at their 2022 peak to about 150,000 BTC in recent CryptoQuant figures. Spreads tighten with size: 0.30%–1.00% on $50k–$100k trades, 0.20%–0.50% on $100k–$500k, 0.10%–0.35% on $500k–$1M, 0.10%–0.20% on $1M–$10M, and 0.05%–0.10% above $10M.
| Metric | OTC Desks | Exchanges |
|---|---|---|
| YoY volume growth (2025) | 109% | 9% |
| Avg daily institutional volume | ~$39B (some >$100B) | Not specified |
| Stablecoin settlement share | 78% (2025), 81% (H1 2026) | Not specified |
| BTC inventory trend | Declined to ~150k BTC | N/A |
| Typical BTC spreads | 0.05%–1.00% by size | Maker/taker fees |
| Minimum trade size | $50k–$200k (named desks) | Lower or none |
Minimum thresholds at major desks stand at $50,000 for Kraken OTC, Coinbase Prime and Binance OTC, $100,000 at Cumberland, and approximately $200,000 at Galaxy Digital and Wintermute. Wintermute alone recorded $2.24 billion in single-day OTC spot volume in November 2024 and 313% full-year growth versus 2023, with institutions comprising 72% of its H1 2026 spot volume.
Choosing Between OTC and Exchange Execution
Trade size sets the first threshold. Orders below $50,000 typically route to exchanges for tight spreads and immediate fills, while desks such as Kraken OTC and Coinbase Prime accept blocks from $50,000 and Cumberland from $100,000. Galaxy Digital and Wintermute usually require around $200,000.
Urgency favors exchanges when price discovery must occur within seconds. OTC desks suit strategic or multi-hour settlements where stablecoin or wire delivery can be arranged without moving visible order books.
Privacy needs push institutions toward OTC venues that keep size and identity off public tapes. Regulatory considerations matter as well: desks holding MiCA CASP licenses provide clearer compliance paths than pure exchange routing in Europe.
- OTC risks and best practices: Counterparty and settlement risk can be reduced by confirming firm quotes in advance and settling via stablecoins where permitted. Always verify final wallet addresses on a hardware device before broadcast.
- Exchange risks and best practices: Slippage and front-running rise with size; split orders across venues or use iceberg orders when staying on-exchange. Monitor maker-taker fees against expected market impact before submission.
Institutions surveyed in 2026 route more than half their volume to OTC when any of the above factors exceed exchange tolerances, while retaining exchange access for smaller tactical trades.
FAQ
What minimum trade sizes apply at major OTC desks?
Kraken OTC, Coinbase Prime and Binance OTC set a $50,000 floor. Cumberland requires $100,000 while Galaxy Digital and Wintermute start near $200,000, according to the 2026 Spark.money desk comparison.
How wide are typical OTC spreads by size?
Spark.money data show BTC spreads of 0.30%–1.00% on $50k–$100k trades, narrowing to 0.20%–0.50% at $100k–$500k, 0.10%–0.35% at $500k–$1M and 0.05%–0.10% above $10M.
How fast has institutional OTC volume grown versus exchanges?
Finery Markets reported 109% year-over-year growth in institutional spot OTC volume during 2025, compared with 9% growth on the top twenty centralized exchanges.
What share of OTC trades now settles in stablecoins?
Stablecoins accounted for 78% of institutional OTC trades in 2025 and rose to 81% in the first half of 2026, per Finery Markets reports.
Why do most institutions route large orders to OTC desks?
Forty percent of surveyed institutions list OTC as their primary venue and send more than half their digital-asset volume off public order books to avoid slippage and information leakage.
When do exchanges still make sense for sizable trades?
Exchanges remain preferable for smaller or time-sensitive orders where visible liquidity, maker-taker fees and immediate matching outweigh the price impact that large blocks would create on public books.
Which platforms reported the strongest recent OTC growth?
Wintermute recorded 313% full-year OTC volume growth versus 2023 and saw institutions generate 72% of its H1 2026 spot volume, up from 61% in the prior half.